Almost Ratatouille

Happy Thursday!

The delightful cooler weather has definitely brightened my mood! (I am NOT a summer person. I tolerate spring.) It seems so much easier to cook tasty things when it is chilly outside.

So for your dining pleasure I have a new recipe, Vegetable Tian. I found it here. This person served it as a side dish, but since the Jeremy and I are trying to eat healthier we had it as a main dish and really, it was perfect for the two of us.

Now you may be thinking about how much you love ratatouille and how you can’t wait to make it, but let me warn you this isn’t actually ratatouille. Ratatouille has sauce, this does not. As far as I can tell that is the major distinction. But I’m fairly sure if you are a ratatouille fan, you will like this.

Here’s what you’ll need:

2 Tb. olive oil (split)
1 large sweet yellow onion, cut in half and sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1-2 russet potatoes, unpeeled (if they are smaller, use 2, if larger 1)
1 zucchini
1 yellow squash
3 large Roma tomatoes
salt and pepper to taste
dried thyme or Italian seasoning, to taste
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese

Here’s what you do:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Coat a round baking dish with nonstick spray (olive oil spray would probably be good, but I just had regular and it turned out fine). Heat 1 Tb. olive over medium heat in a large skillet. Add the onions once the oil is hot and saute them until they are see through. Add the garlic and cook everything for one more minute (don’t overcook the garlic or it will become bitter). Spread the mixture on the bottom of your baking dish.

Next, slice the potatoes, zucchini, squash, and tomatoes (about 1/4 in. thick). Layer them over the onions, alternating between veggies to your hearts fancy. You can make a fun spiral type pattern because your dish is round. Here is what mine looks like:

Make sure that you only do one layer. Season with salt and pepper and thyme (you can really add ANY seasoning you want – Jeremy likes spicy things so we often use red pepper, also I really used Italian seasoning because I love it). Drizzle the other Tb. of olive oil over the top.

COVER WITH FOIL (this is important and I forgot to do it*) and bake for 35 minutes or until the potatoes are tender. UNCOVER and sprinkle with Parmesan cheese, then bake (still uncovered) for 25-30 more minutes or until the cheese is browned.

Serve and enjoy!

*Note: It is still good if you forget to cover it, it’s just a bit drier. When I took it out the first time it didn’t seem right, so I added more olive oil for moisture, then I cooked it covered for like 15 of the remaining 25 minutes, which turned out fine, just the cheese didn’t really brown as well as it was supposed to. Oh well, I’ll know for next time and you, dear reader, can learn from my mistakes! Yay for you!

I hope you enjoy this delicious vegetable dish, either as a side or a main, it is a great way to get some greens (and reds, and yellows, and browns)!

Happy Eating!

2 Comments

Filed under Gluten-Free Recipes

2 responses to “Almost Ratatouille

  1. Special Agent Corkey

    Yum-O! I’m making this!

  2. Special Agent Corkey

    … And I’m watching Ratatouille whilst I do. :)

Leave a Reply

